Shakespeare Plays
Shakespeare's House

Shakespeare Plays

Written by on | Shakespeare

This is a list of all of Shakespeare’s plays. Only a few of his plays can be accurately dated; however, thanks to in-play references, theatre records and other historical records we can get a rough idea of when each play was written and performed. This list is ordered by these estimated dates. His plays developed and matured throughout his professional life. He began very lyrical, sticking mainly to the basic rhythm of blank verse. His later plays are more complex and the rhythm is often broken and the metre changes readily.

Make sure, when reading Shakespeare’s plays, you circle words you don’t understand and look them up in a dictionary (Shakespeare’s Words by David Crystal is a great resource). Shakespeare is almost like a foreign language and the more you look up words and study his plays the better you get at understanding, speaking and performing his marvellous text. Being well versed in Shakespeare is essential for any actor.

List of Shakespeare Plays

The Two Gentlemen of Verona (1590-1591) – Comedy
The Taming of the Shrew (1590-1591) – Comedy
Henry VI, Part II (1591) – History
Henry VI, Part III (1591) – History
Henry VI, Part I (1592) – History
Titus Andronicus (1592) – Tragedy
Richard III (1592-3) – History
The Comedy of Errors (1594) – Comedy
Love’s Labour’s Lost (1594-1595) – Comedy
Richard II (1595) – History
Romeo and Juliet (1595) – Tragedy
A Midsummer Night’s Dream (1595) – Comedy
King John (1596) – History
The Merchant of Venice (1596-7)
Henry IV, Part I (1596-1597) – History
The Merry Wives of Windsor (1597-1598) – Comedy
Henry IV, Part II (1597-1598) – History
Much Ado About Nothing (1598) – Comedy
Henry V (1598) – History
Julius Caesar (1599) – Tragedy
As You Like It (1599-1600) – Comedy
Hamlet (1600-1601) – Tragedy
Twelfth Night (1600-1601) – Comedy
Measure for Measure (1603) – Tragedy
Othello (1603-1604) – Tragedy
All’s Well That Ends Well (1604-1605) – Comedy
Timon of Athens (1605-1606) – Tragedy
King Lear (1605-1606) – Tragedy
Macbeth (1606) – Tragedy
Antony and Cleopatra (1606) – Tragedy
Pericles (1607) – Romance
Coriolanus (1608) – Tragedy
The Winter’s Tale (1609) – Romance
Cymbeline (1610) – Romance
The Tempest (1611) – Romance
Henry VIII (1613) – History
The Two Noble Kinsmen (1613-1614) – Romance

Want to know more about William Shakespeare?

About the Author

is Stage Milk's core writer. He is a trained, Sydney based actor who writes the majority of our acting information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *